Skip to content

new favorite

September 26, 2011

The Acholi diet is not big on dairy products. Fearing adult onset lactose intolerance, I’ve decided it is imperative to my health that I drink fancy iced lattes on a daily basis. Unfortunately my Mennonite “simple living” monthly stipend does not agree. Yet day-old french press tossed over some ice and milk just ain’t gonna to cut it for this Northwest coffee snob. Enter my new favorite thing: cold brew coffee. The difference? Coffee brewed without heat is less bitter than cooled hot brew and is lower in acidity, which makes it seem sweeter and brings out the flavors of the roast. Cold brew is also much stronger than regular coffee, similar to espresso, which makes it perfect for latte creations. I’m not the only fanatic out there. Give it a try…

Step one. Mix 1/3 cup coffee grounds with 1 1/2 cups room temperature water. Cover and let sit overnight.

Step two. After 8-12 hrs., strain the coffee through a filter or cloth.

Step three. Mix about 1 part magic cold brew potion with 2 parts milk. Add
ice. (Store extra cold brew in the fridge for later use.)

BAM. Fancy iced latte.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Bob Shea permalink
    September 26, 2011 11:54 am

    Liz, I’m familiar with the cold-brew process but have never tried it. Have you ever then heated the result or just used it for your “frozen” latte? Another variation on cold brew that I’m aware of uses a much higher amount of ground coffee….say a pound…with a water amount that basically covers the grounds and a little more. Let sit than strain to make a coffee “liquor” which you then use as a base for hot coffee. Sort of like brewing an Americano to taste.

    P.S. I know your brother Raul which is how I connected to your blog.

  2. September 26, 2011 12:06 pm

    I’m going to try this!

  3. Pop permalink
    September 26, 2011 1:47 pm

    When I was a kid in Guatemala, Abuelo liked his coffee using a varation of the coffee syrup aproach….. Using a coffee filter (paper or cloth), filled with ground coffe, slowly through out the day drip small ammount of water on top. The resulting drip works great as a strong, non bitter syrup. Store in a little fancy glass pitcher at room temperature and VOILA!!!!!

  4. September 26, 2011 4:05 pm

    Hello from Nicaragua! I just had to comment on this one…I recently made a gallon of cold brewed coffee and have been sipping on it for the last few weeks. If you’re drinking it every morning, it might be worth making a big batch! I think my ratio was 1 gallon of water and 4 cups coffee. I just stored it in the gallon water jug.
    I can hardly drink hot coffee anymore…too hot!!

  5. September 26, 2011 6:42 pm

    Great ideas, folks! We’re also fans of cold brew over at Cafe Brule in Vermillion: http://bit.ly/pKbgnW But sometimes, given the general scarcity of all things coffee in this town, day old Pike Place over ice does (must!) cut it.

  6. Jackie permalink
    September 26, 2011 8:16 pm

    Thanks for the reminder of a practice that circulated in the 70s–although your instructions are much easier to remember and follow. I’m going to give it a try (again). If I remember right, we used the concentrate for hot coffee as well.
    Jackie, in Slabtown

  7. September 28, 2011 8:26 pm

    Thanks for the suggestions, all! Looks like I’ve got some experimenting to do…

  8. thebeankielbon permalink
    October 30, 2011 1:14 am

    Genius. I can’t wait to try this Costa Rica-times style!

Leave a Reply

