Skip to content

“did you read?”

March 13, 2011

I have recently become an avid conoussouir of blogs. A friend introduced me to the world of google reader (I know I’m late on this bandwagon) and there is no turning back.  Besides staying abreast on the happenings of friends and family, the blogospheres I peruse mainly cover development and Africa related issues, feminism, and DIY fashion/design.  The first is a great way to stay up to date on current trends in the field and lets my cynical little heart know I’m not alone in my doubts.  I’m not the only one who says so.  The second keeps my critical cap on firm and my pop-culture news up to date. If JBiebs opens his mouth about planned parenthood, feminist bloggers will be all over it faster than he can sweep back those bangs. The last is merely a creative distraction that involves zero critical thought. 

These reasons may be true, or perhaps Portlandia is spot on and I’m merely a product of my homeland.

 

All the same, I thought I’d try posting my favorite reads of the week here for virtual, transcontinental sharing and discussing.  Here’s my roundup:

1.  Over at Africa is a Country, The Smiling Faces of Young Africans by Kathryn Mathers looks at how the lessons many American travelers come away from Africa with can lead to dangerous understandings of culture and simplistic answers to poverty.  Raise your hand if you’re excited about Mathers’ new book!

2.  Happy International Women’s Day!  Sociological Images offers a 2011 International Women’s Day Round-Up Post, which includes a cross-dressing Daniel Craig. 

3.  Shotgun Shack posts about a recent pro-life billboard in NYC that is causing quite a stir and asks why the marketing campaigns of international relief and development organizations aren’t held to the same standards. 

4.  In light of the sobering reports coming out of Japan, the Good Intentions Are Not Enough blog lays out a few helpful pointers on the Do’s and Don’ts of Disaster Donations.

5.  Every Friday, Ikenna Azuike of Radio Netherlands Worldwide posts another installment of “What’s Up Africa,” a video blog about African art and pop-culture.  This week’s episode is no less entertaining than usual – a style review from the Parliament of Kenya to Nigeria’s high fashion scene. 

 

What did you read this week?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 13, 2011 9:18 pm

    Finally bootlegged that episode last night! Which I don’t recommend doing from Uganda. And welcome to Google Reader, but it can’t handle everything: “Did you read that fortune cookie? From last night? Did you read it? There were two.”

  2. March 13, 2011 9:24 pm

    Also, speaking of last week’s reads and WHYY interviews worth downloading: “‘Unprotected Texts’: The Bible On Sex And Marriage” http://n.pr/ezzsyF

  3. Pop permalink
    March 14, 2011 2:58 am

    Yes, I read your blog! 😉 Seriously, I love your insights and observations, they sharp and right on target. Keep writing!

  4. Dan Nelson permalink
    March 14, 2011 11:40 am

    Dear Elizabeth,

    I hardly ever read blogs, but when your mom shared the link, I had to catch up on what you’ve been doing — and I’m so glad I did. The good work you’re doing, and the way you are reflecting on it, is an inspiration, Liz. You are making a difference.

    Love, (Uncle) Dan

  5. George permalink
    March 15, 2011 10:14 pm

    Liz,
    I read blogs constantly for the fact that I am more interested in the views of people not the media. Reading what someone has written from their heart and published before some editor gave it their approval is much more interesting to me.

    It is facinating to read blogs written by people that I have met or seen growing up with my children. I enjoyed reading the blog entries Ben had while in Kyrygzstan or Corrie’s time in Korea. Sports blogs are great because once again the writer is clearly passionate about the sport if they will take the time to blog about it.

    Reading blogs also inspired me to start writing my own blogs.

    Please keep writing and we will keep reading. Your journey’s and writings offer us readers a chance to try and understand the cultures of the people you live with.

    Be safe.
    George

  6. March 21, 2011 3:59 pm

    Ben – Thanks for the recommendation! I love a good NPR interview, even if it takes an overnighter to download. Also, don’t worry, I’m finding ways to stay up to date with Portlandia, even here : )

    Pop – Thanks for reading and for cheering on my writing!

    Uncle Dan – Thank you also for reading and for such kind encouragement.

    George – Great to hear from you! I agree, blogs do give a different insight than mainline media. And what are these blogs that you’re writing? I’ll have to put them on my reader!

    Thanks again for the comments, all.

Leave a Reply

