Skip to content

A Delay…

September 19, 2010

Greetings from Ridgefield.  Surprise!  While I originally planned to be in Gulu by this time, feasting on mangos and writing home about new sights and sounds, I’m not quite there yet.  Last Friday, the day before my scheduled takeoff, I developed an “abscessed socket” after having my wisdom teeth taken out last month.  My Friday evening involved a brief oral surgery, a strong round of antibiotics, and a doctor’s orders not to step on a plane for at least two weeks.  This produced a flurry of phone calls, emails, and an airport run.  Try navigating the automated phone system of Delta airlines with a mouth full of novocaine and gauze.  So for now I’m home, resting up and getting ready to leave around the first week of October.  While it has been quite an anticlimactic turn of events, I’m using the unexpected time to heal, prepare, and fit a bit more time with family and friends before I really leave…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 19, 2010 5:39 am

    Lovely illustration, Liz! Where do I get myself one of these?

  2. Meghan Hedley permalink
    September 20, 2010 5:13 pm

    dear you.
    i love that painting.
    also, i’m proud of you.
    i hope to see you
    -Meg

  3. Pop permalink
    October 10, 2010 5:45 pm

    Mom and Pop were so happy to have you an extra month at home ! 🙂

  4. October 25, 2010 12:15 am

    Hope the move to site went well and that you’re settling into a routine. We’re looking forward to your next dispatch!

Leave a Reply

